Challenger School

US Speedskating Announces Rosters for Friday’s Apolo Ohno Invitational


Three Olympians to Represent Team USA in Friday’s Invitational.

US Speedskating announced today the eight-member teams from the four countries – USA, Canada, China and France – that will skate at the Apolo Ohno Invitational this Friday, Nov. 13 at the Utah Olympic Oval.

The Apolo Ohno Invitational will feature the world’s top athletes in short track speed skating as they compete for prize money in both men’s and women’s 500m, 1000m and team relays across 14 nail-biting races (eight semifinals and six finals).

Building off the success from last year’s inaugural event, the event celebrates the most decorated Winter Olympian in American history, Apolo Ohno, with the support of Utah Sports Commission and US Speedskating, the national governing body for the sport of speed skating in the United States. This year’s excitement will be held at the Utah Olympic Oval, an official U.S. Olympic Training Site, located in the township of Kearns.

“Short track speed skating and Salt Lake are near and dear to my heart, from winning my first Olympic medal to serving as my training home during my Olympic career,” said Apolo Ohno, three-time Olympian and eight-time Olympic Medalist. “I am proud to be an ambassador for speed skating and honored to help showcase the sport in a competitive and entertaining format for the athletes and fans in attendance and at home on television.”

Highlighting the field for the U.S. team are three-time Olympic medalist J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Wash.), 2014 Olympic silver medalist Chris Creveling (Kitnersville, Pa.) and 2014 Olympian Jessica Smith-Kooreman (Melvindale, Mich.). Overall, the rosters are made up of 10 Olympians who have combined to win nine Olympic medals.

Olympic silver medalist Valerie Maltais and 2014 Olympic bronze medalist Charlie Cournoyer will headline Team Canada. 2014 Olympians Veronique Pierron and Sebastien Lepape captain Team France. World Record holder in the women’s 500m and 2014 Olympic silver medalist, Kexin Fan, will lead Team China.

One year ago, on Nov. 9, 2014 at the Utah Olympic Oval, Fan and Smith-Kooreman set the World and American record, respectively.

Full rosters are listed below:


Lexi Burkholder (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Keith Carroll Jr. (Honey Brook, Pa.)
J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Wash.)
Chris Creveling (Kitnersville, Pa.)
Katy Ralston (Saratoga, N.Y.)
Kristen Santos (Fairfield, Conn.)
Jessica Smith-Kooreman (Melvindale, Mich.)
Aaron Tran (Federal Way, Wash.)


Charle Cournoyer
Pascal Dion
Patrick Duffy
Alexander Fathoullin
Jamie Macdonald
Valerie Maltais
Keri Morrison
Courtney Shmyr


Kexin Fan
Yu Tong Tao
Jia Ying Tao
Yi Zhe Zhong
Da Jing Wu
Tian Yu Han
Jing Nan Shi
Guang Chen


Veronique Pierron
Tifany Huot Marchand
Louise Milesi
Aurelie Monvoisin
Sebastien Lepape
Vincent Jeanne
Tristan Navarro
Yoann Martinez

The family-friendly evening will kick-off at 7 p.m. MST (doors open at 6 p.m.). Tickets start at $5 for kids and $10 for adults. Visit for more event information or to purchase tickets.

The event will air on NBC Sports Network on Nov. 27, 2015 at 7 p.m. MST.


About author

No comments